Maldives Open 2015

Second annual Maldives Open, which will be returning to Lohis Point from 13-16 September in cooperation with the Asian Surfing Championship (ASC) and the Maldives Tourism Ministry. This year’s event will again be hosted by the Adaaran Select Hudhuranfushi Resort and boasts a total prize purse of $15,000 USD in three divisions; Men’s Open, Women’s Open, and Bodyboarding Open.

Lohis Point at the Adaaran Select Hudhuranfushi Resort is a machine-like lefthand wave that peels perfectly down the reef for often hundreds of meters, and has been the site of WSL (ex -ASP) World Qualifying Series (the world’s top professional surfing organization) events in the past due to its quality, consistency, and accessibility.

Offering up barrel sections as well as steep wall sections for carves, lip hacks, and the occasional punt section, this wave allows the competitors to display their full repertoire of maneuvers during their heats, and often all on the same wave.

Whether viewing the action from a purpose-build wooden deck, where event officials and spectators can see every move the competitors make as if watching the world’s biggest wide-screen TV, or being one of the competitors stoked on surfing this world class wave in the crystal clear Maldivian water with just a couple of other surfers in the water, Lohis Point is the perfect location for the Maldives Open.

Last year’s event was treated to great weather and great waves for Asia’s best men and women surfers, with the Men’s Open won by Bali’s Garut Widiarta, the Women’s Open won by 2013 ASC Women’s Champion Rina Kitazawa from Japan, and the Body Board was won by Gavin Botha from South Africa.

The Adaaran Select Hudhuranfushi Resort has arranged discounted pricing for competitors, friends and their families, even reduced further from last year’s rates.

Register now for the event and to request the resort price list and booking form. You can email to and CC to .

More questions regarding the event please contact:

Maldives Bodyboarding Association (MBBA)
Mohamed Khushuran Ahmed

Asian Surfing Championship (ASC) :
Tim Hain


Post a Comment

Tricks and Tips